“Maybe you were looking, but you weren’t really seeing”

One of my favourite childhood movies is embarrassingly, a cliche one. Yes, you guessed it. A Cinderella Story (2004). That’s literally as cliche as cliche gets.


I always fancied this version of Cinderella more because it’s realistic and relatable. Like, ‘Cinderella’ in this movie doesn’t live happily ever after in a beautiful palace with Prince Charming but actually goes to college (something she wanted real badly). I think that’s something I admire because Disney’s Cinderella has always seemed like a weak character to me. Honestly, everything about this movie is perfect. From the cast, to the acting and the old school vibe that you can’t help but feel through your TV screen. Anyway, a quote from the movie I felt was particularly intriguing is this: “Maybe you were looking, but you weren’t really seeing. ”

Is there a difference between ‘looking’ and ‘seeing’? I think there is. ‘Looking’ is superficial as with our obsession with looks (get it?) whereas ‘seeing’ goes deeper. For example, we can look at someone, but we can only see them for who they really are after spending time and getting to know them. 

This idea of the difference between ‘looking’ and ‘seeing’ is portrayed in this movie too. Austin Ames didn’t recognise Sam when she wore a mask, despite having met and talked to her numerous times before. I found this hilarious and ridiculous at the same time but it effectively proved a point. ‘Looking’ is not the same as ‘seeing’. 

Much of the time, no matter how attentive we claim to be, we miss out on little details in aspects of our daily life. And just like that, people or information can pass us by, without even giving us a chance to realise it. So how exactly can we start to see – things and people – instead of just look? Is that easily achieved by spending more time with people? Or is it something more? What does it mean to see? 

Sources: Images from Google and Tumblr

5 thoughts on ““Maybe you were looking, but you weren’t really seeing”

  1. Hi Amanda, you are so right in pointing out that seeing goes beyond that meets the eye, something that gets strengthened with more meetings with a person.
    In my opinion I think to look would be yes just a semi interested/no interest approach towards something while seeing would entail my desire to find a deeper connection with something that has piqued my interest, so much I want it to be a part of me.
    Also, hey I love this movie, made me so nostalgic❤❤😍😍 one of the best adaptions, as rightly pointed by you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for sharing your opinion! That’s interesting to note. Growing up I never really admired Cinderella.. This version was one of the few that interested me! Watching it today makes me nostalgic too omg! ❤️ Like back in 2004 they were still using flip phones as though in another era 😂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh I was the kid who always loved Cinderella, simply because I’ve always loved fairy tales (my grand parents always told me many such stories, so I fell for them forever.)
        Yes, hahah I know right! Phones, make up, clothes, it all feels like so much in past. Miss them❤❤

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

