Why I no longer believe in new year resolutions

For as long as I can remember, I’ve made new year resolutions every single year. Also, for as long as I can remember, I have never accomplished any of my new year resolutions. As laughable as that sounds, I know I’m not alone. In fact, many others are just like me. As we wave goodbye to 2016, I know that there will be many people making new year resolutions. Yet, how many will actually stick with their new year resolutions through the entire 365 days of the year ahead?

If it’s not a glaring fact already, here it is spelled out for you: I’m not into new year resolutions anymore. What I am into though, are goals. The new year is a great time to start afresh, to forgive and to let go of the bad mistakes made in 2016. However, a new year doesn’t equate to a ‘new you’, as amazing as that sounds. Which is why setting unrealistic and unachievable ‘new year resolutions’ isn’t ideal and just won’t work.

Now, some of you may be thinking that I’m being ridiculous and ‘goals’ and ‘resolutions’ are interchangeable terms. Well, the difference between the two couldn’t be any further. Here’s what most peoples’ new year resolutions look like:

1. Lose weight

2. Get organised

3. Spend less, save more

And here’s the underlying problem why these so called ‘new year resolutions’ will never work; how much weight exactly do you want to lose? How organised can you stay in the long run? How much exactly are you going to cut back on your spending? Since there is usually no exact ‘end point’ in mind, we just can’t find the determination and resolve within us to stick to those resolutions. In other words, they suck because they are neither specific nor realistic. That’s ‘new year resolutions’ for you.

As such, this year I won’t be making no new year resolution. I’ll be setting goals for myself – long term and short term goals – and constantly updating them. Ahem, I always prefer not to publicise my goals, and will only talk about them when I’ve reached them. This time’s no exception! 🙊

Anyway, here’s to a better 2017 for us all, a year in which we’ll continue to chase after our goals and dreams tirelessly! One piece of advice: never give up for all will be worth it! ❤️


References:
http://www.statisticbrain.com/new-years-resolution-statistics/

6 thoughts on “Why I no longer believe in new year resolutions

  1. well said, I completely agree! I’ve given up on resolutions too and focusing more on smaller goals. NY resolutions never go to plan and we end up beating ourselves up over them. Good luck with your goals 😉 and happy new year ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

